Skip navigation.

The Roost

Programming, palaver, puffins!

My Blog Has Moved

, ,

Now that I have refreshed the blog software at my personal website, I'll be blogging there more often. Feel free to visit me at GreyWyvern.com!

The Roost will likely remain for strictly Opera related posts.

Live Business Web Design: a new panic domain registration scam

, , , ...

Today, this UK company Live Business Web Design cold-called us at work and told us this guy named Terry Solomon wanted to register a dozen or so variations on the way our company name appears in our Toronto Stock Exchange listing.

Long story short, they informed us they were "holding" the domains, and were about to release them to Mr Solomon, and our only recourse was to register the domains with them to block this. Sounds like extortion to me. Sounds exactly like all those emails we keep getting, usually from registrars in China, who would be only too glad to register these names in order to keep them out of the hands of a potentially devious third-party.

I told them we would be registering the names at another registrar and they politely informed us that such action would not be possible. Even though the domains were still listed as "available", Live Business Web Design was "holding" the names and just had to "push a button" and they would be gone.

Before we hung up, she told us something like: "It only takes minutes to register, I've done my due diligence. We'll have to release the names now."

Anyway, my boss told me to register just the main dot-com they were trying to push, but through Godaddy, our main registrar. Well, the registration went through no problem, and that domain is now forwarding to our website. I guess the guys at Live Business Web Design just did not push that "release" button fast enough :smile:

If there was any doubt, I did some further research and found that a WHOIS on their domain (livebwd.com) reveals that their domain was registered on August 4th, 2008 (three weeks ago), and the website itself is a quickie Joomla template which could have been set up in less than an hour. They are likely an ENOM reseller looking to capitalize on the same market the emails have been targetting up to now.

Conclusion: Live Business Web Design is a panic domain registration scam. Don't register any domains with them, or any other company who calls or emails you saying that a shady third party is about to register variations on your domain name. If you must register the domains they mention, use a different registrar and do not be swayed by threats that such action will be impossible.

Stay safe out there.

UPDATE (March 4, 2009) - Apparently the Live Business Web Design site is no longer accessible. I'm sure we haven't seen the end of phone scams like these, but it's a satisfying step in the right direction. For more information on scams like these, visit this site: http://www.domainscams.co.uk/

PlanetWerks 2.2 is released!

, , , ...

PlanetWerks 2.2 has been released and approved on the Opera Widgets site! The main feature addition in this version is orbit path trails which can be toggled on and off with the [T] key. Among the other changes are a whole whack of performance tweaks, so hopefully it uses fewer resources for you, despite the addition of the trails!



Go there and check it out! Don't pay attention to the v2.4 on the widget page; that's a bug in the widgets.opera.com site. The available version is really 2.2 :wink:

Guys, I am telling you... Dragonland is the best band ever! Srsly!

, , , ...

Why haven't more people heard about this band? Dragonland is a power metal band which started out making music much like the epic (and sometimes cheesy) fantasy-related tracks of Rhapsody of Fire (formerly Rhapsody). However, Dragonland began moving away from that genre with their third album Starfall which contains a lot of great tracks. Starfall suffers a little because, with a few exceptions, most of the tracks contain a similar tempo, and the mainstay of the power metal genre - the blazing guitars - are downplayed in favour of additional synth.

However, their most recent album, Astronomy, rocks so hard! There is plenty of variety here folks, from ballad to death metal vocals; from epic "movie-soundtrack" instrumentals to straight power metal awesomeness. Who would have thought that a track titled "Supernova" would actually be about a star getting blown to smithereens? :D Friends, this album appeals not only to the power metal fan, but the astronomy nerd in us all!

Check out their site and buy their music!
http://www.dragonland.se/

I am definitely going to one of their concerts if they ever come to Canada, but they'll never do much touring unless they get the popularity they deserve. So come on, guys! Spread the word! Dragonland! :up: :yes: