Wierd email title
Tuesday, 13. January 2009, 03:38:38
I think 127 are the first three numbers your host file references to when it gets asked to send back a ping froma suspect source. I'm not sure what the rest of the number is several zeros I think.
The point is that instead of ringing someone else's IP it just calls itself up on your desk top or home office equipment. That stops your computer becoming a botnet.
Anothe thing it would be good to avoid is spam. You just don't want the bother of wasting time on it. It has nothing to do with the fact it will mention stuff that is very personal even using obscenities on occasion.
At best it is an advert for stuff you don't need and couldn't trust if you did need it.
Which just leaves the insanity of opening attachments from people you don't know.
So why would someone send me an email addressed:
****SPAM(12.7)**** HELLO
Along with a 2.5 KB attachment with a title I don't recognise and a suffix I have never seen before:
HELLO.mht
So if you are KHOREN PNJOYAN or get an email from:
KHOREN PNJOYAN (khorenp57@munged.com)
Feel free to tell me all about it if you opened it, or thought I needed to know something.
Spam 127 hello?
For goodness sake!














PainterWoman # 13. January 2009, 19:03
Last May, however, I opened an email from someone I knew and "POW", my pc froze, and every thing I clicked on to try to correct it brought up a lovely gay men's porn pictures. I was...well...shocked...horrified
and angry too. Ran the virus scan which I thought got rid of it. It didn't. The virus somehow caused 'auto download' to be turned on so during the next day or two, whatever site or blog I visited, pictures were being downloaded by the thousands. I didn't realize what was happening till the pc crashed completely due to overload of pictures. Unplugged everything and took it to my computer guy. He got rid of the virus for good, found all my info, pics, etc. and gave it back to me to rename and reorganize. It took me a good six weeks. I had well over 200,000 photos downloaded that were not mine, plus thousands of documents had been duplicated and corrupted. I had to click on each item to see what it was, rename it, put it in the correct folder, or delete them.
I wrote a poem about this called 'The Day the Earth Stood Still'.
Weatherlawyer # 13. January 2009, 19:16
I remember getting those a few years ago maybe 4 or 5 years back. Boy was I green in those days.
I always make sure that any suspect stuff I feel compelled to open stay unopened for a day or so until all my security stuff is upgraded after the date I received it.
Then it's into Safe Mode with it and complete full scans. Then a defrag.
Try this next time:
Disk Clean Up > CWShredder > AdWare Scans (at least two of them) > Rootkit Cleaner and then Antivirus.
Then run them a second time then reboot when all come up clear. SpyBot removes all my Opera cookies so does Ad Aware so I leave them on when I click remove.
That's it then. If that doesn't work you need to reformat and lose everything. That's what I used to do anyway at one time. I just felt unclean every time I used a compromised computer even though it was cleaned.
Weatherlawyer # 14. January 2009, 17:06
Warning!!!<<< Unused Account Removal <<<Verify Your Account Now<<<
From: Windows Live Hotmail!<<< (message.center404@att.net)<<<
Medium riskYou may not know this sender.Mark as safe|Mark as unsafe
Sent: 14 January 2009 08:15:36
To: jagtarsingh5@hotmail.com<<<
http://www.crunchgear.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/hotmail-logo.gif<<<
You spoke, Hotmail! listened
Dear Account User,<<<
This e-mail is from the Windows Live Hotmail® customer care<<< and we are sending it to every Hotmaile-mail<<< User.<<< Accounts Owner<<< for safety.<<< we<<< are having congestion<<< due to the anonymous registration of Hotmail accounts update of birth<<< and your country information would<<< be needed to verify your account.
Due to the congestion, Windows Live Hotmail would<<< be shutting down all Unused and Unconfirmed Accounts<<< and your account was<<< among those to be deleted. We are sending this email to you<<< so that you can verify and let us know that you still want to use this account. If you are still interested please confirm your account by filling the space below. after<<< clicking
the reply button,<<< or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.<<<
Note:
Your details will not be shared,<<< We'll keep working <<<on making Windows Live! the best email service around, and we appreciate your joining us for the ride.
*USER NAME:
*E-MAIL ID:
*PASSWORD:
*VERIFY PASSWORD:
*ALTERNATE EMAIL ADDRESS:
*DATE OF BIRTH:
*COUNTRY/TERRITORY:
The Windows Live! Team
Message Code: XV6289KK<<<
After following the instructions, your account will not be interrupted<<< and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention and co-oporation<<< to this request. We apologize for any inconveniences.<<<
Warning!!!<<<
Account owner<<< that refuses<<< to update his/her<<< Account after two weeks of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.
Thank you for using Windows Live Hotmail™
Sincerely,
The Windows Live Hotmail Team...
What an absolute abortion. Whoever wrote that deserves all the money he can scam out of anyone stupid enough to reply to it.
PainterWoman # 15. January 2009, 00:22
I've even received a phone call or two asking for this type of information. I always say 'my bank would never ask for this over the phone'. There is usually dead silence after that.
It's maddening that there are so many scammers out there.
Weatherlawyer # 15. January 2009, 01:52
It's maddening that there are so many stupid greedy people feeding them.
If there was an IQ test that newbie computer users could fail and have all their money and all their property and all their family's details given to people just coming out of gaol and in need of a leg up to make a fresh start, we'd be spared getting any more of these damned things.
I think the least we could do is slap them hard when they tell us about it if they are stupid enough to admit to being that damned useless.
The buggers.
Weatherlawyer # 15. January 2009, 02:46
I won't have anything to do with anything that will have anything to do with the Chinese governmet = Yahoo.
So I was rather surprised to find myself the unwitting member of two Yahoo groups:
Originally posted by half witted scammer that overdid it. (Twice):
*******
Anyone any idea what language these might be in?
My use of the groups is set out in Yahoo docs?
Yahoo do docs? And their Terms of Service are held there?
WTF?
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
Weatherlawyer's ToS:
My use of my e-mail address includes the abiity to open e-mail on the supplier's server so that if any malware is borne on the rubbish I usually get, it is not my problem.