You need to be logged in to post in the forums. If you do not have an account, please sign up first.
Please help us fight spam by reporting "clever" forum spam!
Some of the spam posted in the forum is very obvious.Some of it, however, is not.
These days, a lot of spam posts also contains seemingly relevant comments. This is usually just copied and pasted from elsewhere, but it seems to be a normal post at first glance.
What gives it away is that it contains a spam link, either in the message body or in the user's signature. Here is a specific example (the image is grayscale, so as to not confuse it for other posts):

This is an example of an unusual kind of spam post where the text actually seems to be a response to the thread (some of them may even quote other posts), but you will also notice a random link in the post. That is usually a dead giveaway!
Most spam posts, however, are nothing but copy and pastes from other sites using some automated script to make it seem relevant.
If you see any posts with links "out of nowhere" (or a spammy sounding text link in the signature), please look at the link, and if it doesn't seem relevant at all, please click the "Report" link in the bottom right corner of the post, and report it to us as spam (remember to choose the "Spam" option on the report page).
Thanks for helping us keep the forums clean!

Håvard Kvam Moen @ My Opera / Twitter
If by chance a bot could bypass a human question, then the question can be switched to re-break the bots. =D
Originally posted by haavard:
If you see any posts with links "out of nowhere" (or a spammy sounding text link in the signature), please look at the link, and if it doesn't seem relevant at all,
Ummm, not to defend spammers, but wouldn't it seem normal that many/most links in signatures are entirely unrelated to the post/thread they appear in, especially if the link points to a member's personal or business website? Maybe this would be a good time for a statement about what is and is not acceptable in signatures, particularly re links -- or a quick link to such a statement if it already exists.
--Robert A. Heinlein
Originally posted by RayGoneFishing:
Originally posted by haavard:
If you see any posts with links "out of nowhere" (or a spammy sounding text link in the signature), please look at the link, and if it doesn't seem relevant at all,
Ummm, not to defend spammers, but wouldn't it seem normal that many/most links in signatures are entirely unrelated to the post/thread they appear in, especially if the link points to a member's personal or business website? Maybe this would be a good time for a statement about what is and is not acceptable in signatures, particularly re links -- or a quick link to such a statement if it already exists.
I agree--my usual signature (if I use one) is a link to my <a href="http://timtfj.wordpress.com">Wordpress blog</a>, which only rarely has anything about Opera on it . . . Its relevance to posts here is that it acts as further information about who I am, not as anything to do with a particular forum thread.
The Other Blog Without a Name:
http://timtfj.wordpress.com/
======================================
But if you see someone with 10 posts that all just say "Thanks" and then have links to, oh, travel sites in his sig, that sounds like spam to me. Keep in mind the rules here also forbid referral links - even in your sig. If you're trying to make money off of a free community site, we really don't need you.
The people who review the reports will have a hard enough time as it is without reporting everyone who has a link to their favorite antivirus software or favorite video game or whatever.
). Both are perfectly legitimate and informative websites, not spammy at all, but obviously the people who run them also want to make a few bucks with them.If the sites were mine and I had links like "View my photo blog about Antigua Guatemala" or "Read my blog about traveling solo" in my sig, would I get in trouble? Particularly when I'm in the wish-list forum and all I say is "+1", followed by such a sig? In some forums I know such links would be fine, in others I've seed I'd get banned for them since they don't allow anything that even remotely reeks of making money, even if the actual amount is negligible, so I was wondering where Opera draws the line -- in case I ever want to put links in my sig instead of silly quotes

--Robert A. Heinlein
So this place has a spam bot problem then? Spam bots are best fought by modding the registration page with a question a human can answer.
Not spam 'bot' in the normal sense. More likely some drone doing a work-at-home scheme being paid by the post insertion.
Uh... what if it lead us to malicious website? It kinda risky though.
Or maybe this is exactly what they want us to do, click the link & increase the linked website hit rank...
Don't click the link, just hover your mouse over it and look at the status bar. You should see the true URL. If you see something unfamiliar or a URL shortener, don't click it.
--Robert A. Heinlein


Håvard Kvam Moen @ My Opera / Twitter
Originally posted by RayGoneFishing:
The kind of spam I'm talking about here is pretty obvious. Moderators will know what to look for, so report new accounts with suspicious signatures.Ummm, not to defend spammers, but wouldn't it seem normal that many/most links in signatures are entirely unrelated to the post/thread they appear in, especially if the link points to a member's personal or business website?
Originally posted by dude09:
You can just hover the link.Originally posted by haavard:
please look at the link
Uh... what if it lead us to malicious website? It kinda risky though.

Håvard Kvam Moen @ My Opera / Twitter
Originally posted by haavard:
Originally posted by dude09:
You can just hover the link.Originally posted by haavard:
please look at the link
Uh... what if it lead us to malicious website? It kinda risky though.
Unless they used a URL shortener, which is why I oppose those. (If it were up to me, I'd ban use of them.)

Håvard Kvam Moen @ My Opera / Twitter
Still, it’s good that the administrators have finally seen the reports and have taken action. Sometimes a spam post and topic will stay on the forums for a few days before being removed
http://www.wildlifeaid.org.uk

Håvard Kvam Moen @ My Opera / Twitter
Originally posted by camelliashahmoradi:
I like spam. It's great fried, on toast with mayo, lettuce and tomato. Sorta a SLT sandwich.i hate spam
11. August 2010, 08:32:58 (edited)
Not spam 'bot' in the normal sense. More likely some drone doing a work-at-home scheme being paid by the post insertion.
]ust wanted to confirm that yes this happens. I heard it discussed perhaps 6 months ago on a prominent security podcast. Spammers have also managed to crack many of the captchas. Just a simple verification like "type a number larger then 2 + 2" will stop all the bots but obviously not the human creep working for the spammers.
Note: here's a NY Times article on the captcha crackers -
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/26/technology/26captcha.html?_r=1&src=me&ref=technology
KKILL ITT
This unnatural web-creature has been spamming blogs and inboxes with its embedded trailer. Smells like a bot.

Håvard Kvam Moen @ My Opera / Twitter
Originally posted by sites.web.pt:
Probably http://my.opera.com/community/forums/topic.dml?id=215333the report link for spam in Opera Unite Applications? I've encountered several spam comments from a banned member.
New Zealand All Blacks the 2011 Rugby World Cup Champion

Want to send me a message? Send it to mimismum(at)myopera.com (not mimi_s_mum@myopera.com)
15. January 2011, 18:20:08 (edited)
http://my.opera.com/eesrsss/about/
Followingg comment has been found here
http://my.opera.com/shootell/blog/exhibition-december-2010#comments
New Zealand All Blacks the 2011 Rugby World Cup Champion

Want to send me a message? Send it to mimismum(at)myopera.com (not mimi_s_mum@myopera.com)
Be helpful to the shyman, and be wary of the slyman.
Be guidance to the blindman, and be thankful to the kindman.
ʎzzıp ʇǝƃ llıʍ noʎ ʇıq sıɥʇ pɐǝɹ ʇ,uop
11. March 2011, 01:09:36 (edited)
Edit: removing link to revenue earning url shortner
My blog | Follow me on Twitter | My YouTube channel | My DevianArt account
Check to see if you can upgrade your Norton software for FREE!

Håvard Kvam Moen @ My Opera / Twitter
I can't think of any other valid reasons, and the fact that most people won't know where the link is going to take them is more of a concern than the length of the URL.
Originally posted by sgunhouse:
This thread is not accessible for me since today. I can not see posts from other people and I can not post something. Is this known?
Originally posted by ouzoWTF:
Yes, reported here.Is this known?
I thought:
Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:
and suggested:Seems there's a bug comment in the first page. Maybe someone changed his/her signature without closing a tag or something?
Second page onwards appear normal.
Originally posted by mimi_s_mum:
go directly to the last post from the topic list. If you click on the envelop icon on the left, you are taken to the first unread post of the thread. If you click on the little arrow by the last poster's name, you are taken to the last post.
New Zealand All Blacks the 2011 Rugby World Cup Champion

Want to send me a message? Send it to mimismum(at)myopera.com (not mimi_s_mum@myopera.com)
You can still post directly from "Quick Reply" at the bottom, though. Originally posted by ouzoWTF:
you post a screenshot where I did the last post, thats not cool!
Surely that's cool, isn't it? 
New Zealand All Blacks the 2011 Rugby World Cup Champion

Want to send me a message? Send it to mimismum(at)myopera.com (not mimi_s_mum@myopera.com)
Showing topic replies 1 - 50 of 92.
Forums » My Opera » My Opera: Feedback, questions and discussions
