miscoded

the web is a hack

Subscribe to RSS feed

Posts tagged with "funny"

Hotmail has class

, ,

Hotmail's choice of class attribute for its HTML element if you use Opera to access it just strikes me as very funny.. The output of a
javascript:alert(document.documentElement.className)
command is:



That's right. In other words
<html class="Firefox FF_Win FF_M1 FF_D5 Opera">
Is that what you would call exquisite confusion? confused

Aside, I hope to have the basic Hotmail working again in Opera 9.2x before the end of the day. After all, what's an insulting class declaration to a browser from the proudly egalitarian Scandinavian peninsula? We're above class, for sure p

nobody told the backend about the merger

, , , ...

Nearly a year ago Adobe made a big move and aquired Macromedia. When doing so they made big announcements (though I much prefer John Gruber's unspun FAQ) and generally hyped the deal as best they could.

Apparently, they forgot make their online store backend read the pressreleases:

GET /cfusion/store/index.cfm?store=OLS-NO&view=ols_prod&category=/Applications/DesignPremium&distributionMethod=FULL&promoid=RWTS&nr=0 HTTP/1.1
Host: store2.adobe.com


HTTP/1.1 302 Moved Temporarily
Date: Fri, 30 Mar 2007 12:22:37 GMT
Set-Cookie: TID=--RWTS; path=/; domain=.adobe.com; expires=Sun, 29-Apr-2007 12:22:37 GMT
Set-Cookie: CFID=40105465;domain=.macromedia.com;expires=Sun, 22-Mar-2037 12:22:37 GMT;path=/
Set-Cookie: CFTOKEN=7c9bb3da703d2768-A2CC1D8D-B3D9-8643-43D13FDD8990B947;domain=.macromedia.com;expires=Sun, 22-Mar-2037 12:22:37 GMT;path=/

If you aren't fluent in HTTP, that is Opera asking for a page on store2.adobe.com, and the server responding "well, we've moved the page over there for now but by the way please remember these cookies and send them next time you visit us at macromedia.com".
p

security through stupidity

, ,

I already blogged a piece of nonsense called "HTML protector", commercial software that pretends to "protect your HTML/JavaScript/CSS code from theft". Readers of this blog will know that this software is absolutely worthless at "protecting" any code, and seriously harmful to any site that is meant to be accessible or meant to show up in Google.

We've found a few more sites where this tool blocks Opera-users but I can't imagine any site that has content I would WANT to see being this clueless so I won't patch them or anything. However, while researching this I found evidence that this software is used by phishers. That makes a lot of sense when you think about it: phishing sites do not care about Google findability and they may even try to obscure themselves from security software.. So, this adds a touch of extra security for our users! Certain phishing sites actively detect Opera and automatically show a clean white page instead of their spoofed login forms. A case of security through stupidity!